There are two types of divorce in Texas: Fault and No-Fault.

Most divorces in Texas are no-fault. It is the least expensive.

There are 5 basic categories of fault divorce in the Texas Family Code. Fault can be important for the purpose of marital property division, parental rights, and spousal maintenance.

The 5 fault categories are:

  • Cruelty
  • Adultery
  • Criminal Felony Conviction
  • Abandonment
  • Confinement in mental hospital for an extended period of time