Texas treats drug possession very seriously. If you have been arrested on possession charges, it is important that you have experienced legal counsel on your side. This is particularly true for cocaine and its derivatives. What should you know about Texas cocaine laws and potential punishments? We’ll explore those below.
How Are Possession Charges Determined?
There are several different factors that go into determining the drug possession charges you’ll face in a Texas courtroom. These include:
- The amount of cocaine/cocaine derivative in question
- The presence of large amounts of cash
- The presence of other equipment or paraphernalia, such as scales
- Your criminal history
Possession of Cocaine
There are several possession charges based on quantity alone. These include:
- Under 1 Gram: If you’re found in possession of under a gram of cocaine, you could be facing a state felony with between six months and two years of prison time. If this is your first offense, it could mean probation, though.
- 1 to 4 Grams: If you’re found in possession of between one and four grams of cocaine, you’ll be facing a third-degree felony, which could mean up to 10 years in jail and $10,000 in fines.
- 4 to 200 Grams: If you’re found with between four and 200 grams of cocaine, you will face second-degree felony charges, with up to 10 years in jail and $10,000 in fines, similar to the previous charge.
- 200 to 400 Grams: If you’re found with 200 to 400 grams of cocaine, you’ll face first-degree felony charges, which could mean jail time up to 99 years and $10,000 in fines.
- Over 400 Grams: If you have over 400 grams of cocaine on you, you’ll face life in prison and up to $250,000 in fines.
- Delivery: Delivery charges could mean between two years and life in prison depending on the quantity.
- Manufacturing: If you’re caught manufacturing cocaine, you could face between two years and life in prison depending on the amount in question.
As you can see, even possession of a very small amount of cocaine can have serious ramifications.
What to Do Next
Have you been charged with possession of cocaine in Texas? It’s essential that you work with a defense attorney who understands Texas drug laws and can fight for your rights. Contact The Blacknall Firm today by calling 214-678-9111 to schedule a consultation on your case and to discuss your situation.